Getting My Hair Did

February 6, 2008

I’m getting my hair did today.  Finally!!!  I’m excited and afraid.   You know how it is when it has been a long time in between hair appointments and your hairdresser shames you into feeling like your hair is the most important thing in the world?  I am forced to go to a fancy high end salon.  See it’s so fancy I have to call it a salon.  The people there all wear black.  They all go to hair shows to get up on all the latest in hair and color trends.  Granted they are the best of the best.  And of course this leads to the highest of prices in town.  This begs the question as to why would I go to such a high priced salon?  Well, I have what you might call problem hair.  My friend who used to do my hair referred to it as “smack banana” hair.  I can only assume this is because my hair is so fine and curly that it puts him in mind of the fine tiny fibers of a banana.  You know the little strips you peel off of the banana that are kind of gross.  Well at any rate, my hair is difficult to say the least. And these people know what they are doing.  I walk in there with my fine, curly hair that is unmanageable at best and I walk out looking like a goddess.  I mean it.  I will pay any amount of money if I can just wake up in the morning and not have to fuss with my hair and walk out the door with the confidence that I won’t frighten people.  So today is the day.  With the help of my generous sister who gave me some money for my birthday I will not be spending inordinate amounts of time in front of the mirror just trying to look decent.  So I am looking forward to being pampered.